renewal

The sun came up again today.

The colors danced upon my pillow, warmth came streaming through the window to wake me from my slumber but I never knew.

I watched a child at play.

Saw a spark within her image that reminded me of someone.  I don’t know who.

Even though the sun is shining I can’t help but wonder does it need to rain?

A saw a fire within a flame. Consuming the lumber, ravaging the timber, leaving me to ponder. I felt a chill.

I held a hand today.

Felt the pulse of life that lingered, laced within my fingers, yet feeling like a stranger.  My heart stayed still.

Even though the sun is shining I can’t help but wonder does it need to rain?

I need a new rain falling down on me.  I need a fire from heaven igniting my soul   something bigger and stronger than me, drawing me upward, so that I can see.

I can see the stars but I don’t know they shine.  I can walk the road and forget to enjoy the ride.

Eat the fruit but I don’t know its’ sweet.

I can feel the mud beneath me but I still want to wash my feet.

Smell the incense but the smoke gets in my eyes.

I can move with the river and somehow I stay dry.

Even though the sun is shining I can’t help but wonder does it need to rain?

Leave a Reply

