Heart of Stone

I stole an hour from everyday work today.  It’s 74 degrees in March.  This doesn’t happen.  I was not going to miss the opportunity to take a walk on the beach! When beauty calls, I respond. Early spring at Lake Michigan reveals unseen treasures.  Sea glass, oodles of stones, shells…yes weird clammy looking shells…oh and I even found a 2 inch purplish claw, like a crab claw.  I didn’t know any creature like this was even near the lake.  I have trouble swimming knowing there are fish near by, now for sure I will have issues this summer!

 

I was dazzled by all the things I don’t typically get to see in the summer. 

                           I found some stones  that looked as if they had been carved into the shape of hearts.  

                            The rough waters must have worn down these little gems in just the right spots to create a heart shape.

 I feel kind of hard inside, like a stone, that’s what led me to take a walk outside.  

My soul needed airing-out.  Family, marriage, life…it wares my edges down too.

I hope I am gaining a heart from all of this.  

A better heart.

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.” ~ God

(Ezekiel 36:26)

Leave a Reply

