Soul Tender

I am astounded by how much I have ignored the fact that I’m a spiritual being.  I have a soul.  It is impacted by life.

Hollowed Out

I tend to push through the functions of my day without as much of a thought of my inner life…you know the soul part of me.  We all have one.  We all have seen what happens to people in life when they ignore it. It won’t take you more than 10 seconds to identify a celebrity figure whose world has unraveled because they weren’t listening to their souls.  They weren’t tending to their soul needs.

We float through life really well don’t we.  We pretenders.  We are good at masking and doing, masking and doing…but never really connecting and living.

It took me to get to the place where I was really tired, soul tired, to begin to give my soul some focus.

My soul is not magical or mystical.  It isn’t weird or unexplainable.  It is merely the non physical portion of me.  Caring for it isn’t rocket science.  Rest, encouragement, instruction, wisdom, inspiration, repairs…all these things needed for everyday life my soul needs on a spiritual level.

A few months ago I finished a project called, Letters To My Soul where journaled letters to my soul.  I use the Bible as my guide as I believe that all truth and life come from God’s Word.  Speaking to my soul as if me and my soul were two separate people I sought to comfort, encourage, guide and strengthen my own soul.  The following is an excerpt from this project. May you find what you are look for today.

Dear Soul,

Things have not turned out as you planned did they?  Everything you thought was secure has suddenly been tumbled upside down.  I feel the heaviness in you.  A soul, although not physical, can experience tangible realities.

There was a man who loved the Father and his name was Habakkuk.  He penned these words, “Though the fig tree does not bud, and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls…” (Habakkuk 3:17 NIV)  Life didn’t turn out as planned either.  His words capture the experience of stark emptiness, no light, no resources or wealth, no fruit from hard work; only failure, heaviness of the soul.

Habakkuk identified the real seriousness of the situation and he added something to his outlook “…yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.  The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.” (Habakkuk 3:18 NIV).  A powerful response to a dark situation.

Soul I bring up Habakkuk today because I think we need to focus on what he is saying to us.  Look more closely not at the severity of things but rather at the sufficiency of the Father.  This act of the will is decisive.  To rejoice in the Father in the midst of heaviness is an act of the will.  Not being swept away by understandably ravaged emotions but rather by telling his soul that the Father is his Savior, he is able to stand.

Choosing joy, choosing to rejoice in the Father is otherworldly.  This present time does not invite us to embrace anything but our own reality and experience.  But the Father beckons us to know and rely on things that this world doesn’t know or understand.  The Father is a Savior, LORD over everything that we may experience.  This situation your soul is facing today is not all there is, nor can it limit or prohibit the Fathers purpose, power, goodness or provision.  This present heaviness is an earthly experience, real as it is, the Father whispers. Things are not all they seem to be.

Suddenly, you are moving but remain still, suddenly you are transported onto a high place but the scenery hasn’t changed, suddenly you feel like dancing when just a moment ago you felt shrouded in heaviness.

Precious Soul, things have not turned out as you planned, have they.  Look for the Plan in the plan.  There is a current that runs deep beneath the surface of things that refreshes the soul. The Fathers reality mingles with your present reality when rejoicing and praising in the Savior begin. Things are not all they seem to be.

3 comments

  1. i love your vulnerability here randi. you are me. you are all of us. the words you write echo and reverberate in my heart and soul.
    this soul talk needs to become a way of life, there needs to be regular soul talk going on amongst us, literally we need to do this more – you and i! and literally the body of Christ needs to remove the barriers of pride, self-protection, fear, shame and a myriad of other feelings that keep us from this holy place of soul work.
    practicing soul work on a regular basis, quieting ourselves before God and just being still and honest, quiet enough to hear ourselves will not remove the hard empty times but will allow us to see the fullness of God even in the empty times of life.
    love you friend

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. We are souls with bodies aren’t we? Often times I feed the body and not the soul only to be ravaged by the consequences of neglect. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

