Discontented Voices

So I’ve just spent the last 10 minutes sifting through life on FaceBook. I do enjoy a daily walk in social media, I’ll admit it.  Announcements, prayer requests, quirky stories and pictures galore flood the news feed keep me feeling connected in some weird way.  I am all for being a part of a community, albeit via social media.

Here’s my big confession. It’s not always good for me.  I’m a comparer and the last 10 minutes of “FaceBooking” has left me wishing I was someone else.

Wow, I wish I could have the kind of life where I had business in an exotic place. Whoa, she looks really good and we are the same age! Her husband really treats her like a queen. I would love to have a cottage and boat.  I wish I had that kind of discipline. They look like they are having so much fun, I want to go on an adventure.  They look so in love and happy.  Their kids are so talented.  I wonder what it would be like to be that smart?

Those discontented voices sneak into my head.  Voices that tease my soul into thinking I am missing something.

Isn’t that what comparing yourself really does anyway?  Tell lies?  If when looking at others I immediately compare myself I have an ugly problem. Envy. Rats!  I wish I wasn’t like this!!  I don’t get to be someone else.  I only get to be me.  Why isn’t that enough?

Honestly, I’ve struggled with envy as long as I can remember.  I have grown since my younger years but I continue to ask God to help me; to change me.  Living without envy sounds so nice.

Anytime I base my contentment on what I don’t have,

I become a hostage.

Enter God’s voice in the midst of my self-pity rant:  “Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.”  (Galatians 5:1 MSG)  So I click off FaceBook to stop the madness.

Whew!  I got lost for a minute, or 10.

6 comments

  1. Great, honest post ; ) My sister sent me a quote on the bottom of her email a few years ago that says “Comparison is the thief of Joy” and it has helped me a lot while along the path of relearning not to compare myself, kids, spouse, house etc…I want more Joy in my life, not less ; )

Leave a Reply

