Flight

I recently stopped at a truck stop for gas.  I had just left Chicago and continued my 3 hour journey home.  As I pulled in something moving in the gorgeous blue sky above caught my eye.  It was a huge bald eagle flying low enough for me to notice.

How odd, I thought.  City life was just behind me.  How on earth is it that an eagle lived near by?  I thought eagles lived in wooded, mountainous, quiet lake side areas, not a bustling metropolis. I couldn’t help but be captivated by this unusual sight.  It circled around right over the truck stop, as if she was intentionally trying to get my attention.

I have been very busy the last number of weeks, hence the hiatus of the weekly posts you are used to, this beautiful bird caught me off guard, she stopped me, caused me to look up, grabbed my attention away from my hurried thoughts and on to her majestic and out of place flight.

Unexpected beauty in an unexpected place.

Longing began to fill my heart.  A good longing.  I want to be that bird.  I want to soar above it all.  I want the perspective that kind of “high” living brings.  I want to show up with dazzling beauty in an unsuspecting place and cause others to look up, to catch their breath, to catch them off guard without knowing I’ve done a thing at all.  Grace spilling everywhere.

Simmering on these thoughts I remember words written about living like an eagle.

Even youths grow weary, and young men stumble and fall; 

but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. 

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

walk and not grow faint. ~ Isaiah 40:30-31

Flying like an eagle is possible.  There is no age limit, no circumstance restrictions, no physical limitations to soaring on wings like eagles here.  To fly is not dependent on skill, age or position in life.  It is a result of hoping in the LORD.

If I want to fly, I have to hope in the Lord.  Here I go, moving into 2013, preparing for flight.

How about you?

Eagle

Leave a Reply

