Things That Wake You Up

I was awakened in the middle of the night to the “whoot whoot whoot” of an owl.

We have  owls around here.  Big ones.  From time to time I’ve heard them but there was something really strange about this owl.  For one, it woke me up out of a sound sleep.  It was unbelievably loud!  It sounded like it was right outside my window.  But that wasn’t the odd part.  When it “whoot-ed”  a different owl whooted” back!  I’ve never heard such a thing!

Owl #1:     Whoot who whoot

Owl #2:     Whooo whoot whoot whoot

owls

There I lay, listening to an owl conversation.  I didn’t know owls talked to one another. (Obviously something not covered on the National Geographic Channel!)  Who knew there was an owl language?  There was a distinct difference between the two owls too.  The pattern of the first call was different than the response from the other owl.

What in the world were they talking about? I wondered. And so loudly too!

In the darkness of the night I pondered what kind of conversations owls have.  A question I never even considered before. I’m not particularly fond of owls or any bird really, but there I was thinking about them, thinking about what they looked like or how big they were.  Wondering why in the world they needed to have this conversation in the middle of the night?

It’s funny, the things that wake you up.

The next morning I awoke with a strange sense like I had just been on some sort of adventure.  I couldn’t wait to tell someone about my owl visitation.  How funny it was, how odd…how it had awaken me body…and mind.  It was as if God deliberately placed two owls in proximity to my bedroom and said, “Just start talking to one another, she what she does.”   The owls weren’t stirring me from my sleep, God was. How amusing.

Life gets stagnant.  I do the same things every day.  My routine is compulsory.  I wear the same set of clothes, use the same toothpaste and eat the same eggs.  I drive the same roads and pay the same bills again and again.  I walk the same treadmill and feed the same dog day after day.  I think the same thoughts, worry about the same things and read the same Bible consistently.  Stagnant I become… I must confess. I don’t “see” when I look.  I don’t “feel” when I touch.  I’m not “inspired or curious” when I journey.

The lens which I view my world through becomes so predictable and unimaginative.  My senses deaden to the movement of God around me.  But God makes visits, or He sends owls, to bring me back into life, imagination, curiosity and awe.  I think this is one of the perks of a relationship with God.  He makes all things new.  Old things, sick things, broken things, familiar things, confusing things…all things new.  He is full of surprise. I love that about Him.

May something wake you up today!

“He who is seated on the throne said, ‘I am making everything new!'”  ~ Revelation 21:5

2 comments

  1. I love that about our God, too! He IS full of surprises!
    Oh, and perhaps the owls were engaging in soul talk?! Just a thought! 🙂
    Hugs to you and keep up the awesome blogging. I love the creativity in visuals in addition to your words 🙂 Sending love to you today!

Leave a Reply

