“The Wonderful Things”

I was talking to someone the other day. We were both admitting that in some ways life has not turned out as well as we had thought it would when we were younger.   We agreed that there were many wonderful things in our lives….it just looks different.  Wonderful things once looked like great jobs, fulfilling and easy relationships, health, adventure, living exactly where you want, always having what you want and need and so on.

Capistrano Bells

Now I’m beginning to question…

 “Maybe the wonderful things we label as “wonderful” really aren’t the wonderful things after all?”

 

We live with tension, every one of us.

I look for the answer to my tension in some kind of stability…financial, relational, spiritual, physical, material, emotional….if I could just get all these ducks in a row that would be wonderful!  When I get my stuff to behave then I will have the wonderful things. Riiiiggghhhtttt?

Does that work for you?  It doesn’t for me.  Trying to get my stuff to behave is like a plate spinner who has too many plates spinning.  His tries to keep the plates spinning, but they fall and break.

As I talked with my friend I sensed a new definition for wonderful things begin to form. Our conversation began to settle in what was truly life giving and encouraging to us.


Things like:
                             options to solve problems,
                             people who were depending on us,
                             faith in a God who said He would never abandon us,
                             courage to believe for something new,
                             memories of fun experiences with friends and family,
                             learning new skills and using them,
                             experiencing wonder,
                             being challenged to get better at something,
                             the ability to express ourselves…

Ideas just kept forming as the conversation continued.

Turns out that all I thought that I wanted when I was 22 in many ways didn’t happen … at least in the way I thought.  

I have so many more wonderful things in my life than I ever imagined.

What are your wonderful things?

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than we could ever ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. ~ Ephesians 3:20-21

2 comments

Leave a Reply

