I Need New – Do You?

I love packing up the Christmas decorations and taking down the tree.

There.  I said it.

I’m sure there are some of you who sigh every time you walk past the waining tree that remains in your home at this early January day.  “This weekend I have to put this stuff away.” You say to yourself.  No body I know likes to put Christmas back.

I do.

My family cringes at me when I start whisking things away the day after Christmas.  (I actually sneak a few things even before Christmas.  Shhhh don’t tell them.)  But they are the kind of people that think the decorations need to say put for the entire holiday week.  Right up to New Years Day.

I can’t do that.

My husband barely grunted at this years de-frocking.  We’ve been through this too many times and he knows better than to fight my urges.  My kids weren’t home so he snap chatted them the tree-less room so they could commiserate.

I like the exercise of putting the Christmas decorations away for another year. When I do my home becomes a blank canvas.  Somewhere inside of me an enthusiasm begins to bubble over the “new-ness” of the year ahead.  I am entertained by this.

The apostle Paul wrote:

“Anyone who believes in Christ is a new creation. The old has gone. The new has come!”  2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV)

New Creation

Fresh Process

Unused Life

It’s all there, for me.

I’ve never been a “New Years Resolution” kind of person but I am resolute about experiencing-new.

I’m so glad Jesus knew I would need new.

To put off that which doesn’t work for me.  The things that keep me boxed in and stifle my imagination.  The places of me that aren’t filled with God-Life.  They all need doses of new. 

And new never gets old  It can’t!

New isn’t something that only happens at the beginning of each year. (Although the New Year is a great reason to celebrate it!)  The thing about new is that it can happen any day of the year.  Jesus made this possible.

But new isn’t a switch on a wall that magically changes things.  It is a lens in perspective that sees with vision and a posture of the heart that believes with God all things are possible. Only Jesus can make new. He made it so He could share with you and me.

I’m excited about new and what it means for me. I’m excited that new is open for business everyday.  I’m excited that even when things appear un-new and I’m sitting in the waiting room of hope and faith, I can believe that new can’t be withheld from me because I’m in Christ.

I am absolutely sure that not even death or life can separate us from God’s love. Not even angels or demons, the present or the future, or any powers can do that. Not even the highest places or the lowest, or anything else in all creation can do that. Nothing at all can ever separate us from God’s love because of what Christ Jesus our Lord has done. ~ Romans 8:38-39

New Always Has A Doorway

New Always Has A Doorway

I need some new …. do you?

Leave a Reply

