Fixing the Brakes

This weekend my husband had to fix the brakes on my car. They had been squealing for a while.  We knew it had to happen but hadn’t had the time to do anything about it.

The squeal turned into a growl.  It was time to do something.

Another Sunday afternoon was devoted to resolving one of life’s conflicts.

Fixing things can be inconvenient sometimes.  I wish life moved flawlessly and without interruption.

But sometimes stopping to fix things can save your life.

Is there something squealing in your life?  Has it turned into a growl that you can no longer ignore? Do you fear the unknown?  Do you think you won’t be able to understand it or deal with it?  I sometimes feel this way.

In the last few years I have had a lot of things break down in my life, air conditioners and muscles and tendons, computers and relational cohesiveness, refrigerators and fellowship with God.  Many areas have gone way past the squeal and turned into a growl before I did anything about it.  I’m learning to recognize the signs of brokenness in my life.  Some of the symptoms have patterns.  When I look at the patterns I hear the squeal (or growl).  These have been some of my warning signals:

  1. Something hurts in my body or mind. A mental or physical pain that never leaves and/or consumes.
  2. The folks closest to me annoy me very quickly. (Usually my own tribe.) An irritable heart tends to reflect the most on those who know us best.
  3. My “want to” has gotten up and went.  The desire to go places, be with people, eat healthy, etc. (fill in the blank), has somewhat diminished.
  4. Continuing to make the same mistake over and over again.
  5. Creativity dries up. Thinking creatively whether it be problem solving, crafting something, using imagination, devising some sort of plan for something pertinent or creatively communicating is like trying to draw water from an empty well.  Creativity is a function of a well nurtured life.  When our creativity is lacking, the flow of imaginative thinking has been stopped somewhere.

Can you relate to any of these?  I’m sure there are more symptoms, these have been mine.

Does something in your life need attention.  It’s not selfish to devote time to yourself and address these things.

I drive other people in my car.  My husband didn’t just fix the brakes for me, but for the safety of others.  When you examine the squeals in your life and determine to repair them, you are considering the well being of others.

I can’t imagine a better way to love the people in your life.

Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins. ~ I Peter 4:8

4 comments

Leave a Reply

