I’m Losing My Patience With You…. God

Have you ever made this statement?

“I’m losing my patience with you.”

I have.  I’ve said it to my kids, my dog, my husband…and I’ve said it to God.

I’m running low on patience lately.  God just seems slow and it doesn’t seem as if I have what it takes to hang in there.

It’s not that God is behaving badly.  Confusion and doubt cloud my vision. I lack faith. I need perspective.

The Long View

The Long View

God and I are not on the same timeline.  He thinks and acts differently than I. He is not bound by the rules of this world. Finding my way with Him seems to require something other than my own intellect, knowledge, will and patience.  I cannot go where God is wanting to go without His ability to get me there. My limited abilities only take me so far.

I’ve run out of patience with God.

I’m impatient. I have to ask for something more because my hope in God depends on it.

Hidden in the pages of Scripture I find the direction I seek.

May you have more and more of His loving-favor and peace as you come to know God and our Lord Jesus Christ better. He gives us everything we need for life and for holy living. He gives it through His great power. As we come to know Him better, we learn that He called us to share His own shining-greatness and perfect life. Through His shining-greatness and perfect life, He has given us promises. These promises are of great worth and no amount of money can buy them. Through these promises you can have God’s own life in you now that you have gotten away from the sinful things of the world which came from wrong desires of the flesh. ~2Peter 1:2-4

  • The loving favor of God is something I can obtain.
  • Peace comes as I get to know Jesus more.
  • God is willing to share His own greatness with me so I can continue to press into the life He has for me.

Running out of my own patience could be a good thing. I become more curious about how God can help me in my mess. The end of my abilities can be the beginning of God’s abilities in me. When I get to the end of something in me a space is created.  There is room for God’s “shining greatness” the scriptures talk about. I invite God to enter my weakness. I am then able to wait.  Maybe that’s the goal?

Waiting…

  • causes the soul to pause and consider something other than self
  • demonstrates a inner longing that can only be filled outside yourself
  • is an act of humility

Waiting takes us to God

Waiting on God is something entirely different than having patience with God.  Believing that His answers and plan are far better than anything I could conjure up, trusting in His timing, being confident in His good love for me; all elements of waiting. Waiting fosters trust.  Patience is not enough to experience answered prayer, waiting is required.

When we wait for an appointment we believe the appointment is worth our time.  When we wait for a due date we are anticipating some important event in our life. When we wait for a loved one to have a change of heart we are believing that goodness can prevail.

Waiting reflects the anticipation of something better.

Maybe God wants to be waited on more than we think?

Maybe running out of my own limited ability is exactly what God has in mind?

Maybe it’s God’s way of pulling me toward Him?

What are you running out of?

Where have you come to an end?

It just could be the beginning of something.

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him;” ~ Psalm 37:7

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

