God Is Interested In You

When I was growing up I often heard the phrase “God loves you” at the youth group I attended. It was always said in such a way that left me feeling as if it was the most profound thing in life.  Maybe it is but I didn’t connect to it.

Although it felt right to hear it didn’t have a lot of meaning for me because I didn’t know what it meant, like grandparents that you never see or talk to write “I love you” in a card. You know it’s true and you’re glad about it but it doesn’t feel personal. You really don’t know one another.  You are drawn to this vague statement of love but don’t know why because it doesn’t really affect your life.

I wish someone would have said to me:

God is interested in you.

This makes more sense to me.  It personalizes God in a way that makes me curious.

Why is He interested in me?  

How is He interested in me?  

How do I know He’s interested in me?

It has only been in recent years that I have come to embrace the idea that God is interested in me.  Maybe you are in a place where you too need to consider it?  Here is some evidence from scripture that leads me to believe this.

  1. He knows your name.  (Isaiah 45:3)
  2. He’s familiar with your hair style. (Matthew 10:30)
  3. He is impressed with your work.  (Ephesians 2:10)
  4. He wants to hang out with you. (John 17:24)
  5. He gets it there are things about you that need improvement. (2 Corinthians 5:17)
  6. He knows you like good things. (Psalm 103:5)
  7. He knew you would love His creation so He gave it to you. (Genesis 1:29)
  8. He cries when you cry. (Psalm 145:9)
  9. He understands that life often doesn’t make sense to you. (Isaiah 55:8)
  10. He has made up a room in his house just for you. (John 14:2-4)

This is just a small list. God thinks about you and is interested in you in more ways.

Next time you hear “God loves you” add the phrase “… God is interested in you” on the end of it.

Remembering Glass

Remembering Glass

It makes a whole lot more sense.

2 comments

  1. Love it! I have always had a little disconnect with that “cliche” too. I love the saying “Jesus knows me, this I love” ; ) I am also really connecting lately with Chris Tomlin’s latest song with the lyrics Jesus~ He loves me~ He is FOR me. Thanks once again for sharing your writing!

Leave a Reply

